Reviews

The Brevity of Twit

By hesterla on June 16, 2015 5 of 5 Stars Delightful Even if You Don’t Like Poetry

I have to admit, I’ve never really understood poetry. I’m not sure what it is about it…the overwhelming subjectivity, the rigidity of form, or the air of pretentiousness that frustrates me the most. To me, it feels like the modern art version in a literary format: it could mean literally anything or nothing, and my dog could probably do it.

But when KD Rose tweeted at me and asked me to review her short book, The Brevity of Twit, Poetry in 140 Characters, I readily agreed. She was writing her poems in tweets, a delightful, modern twist on the traditional poetical structure. For some reason, this was something that really piqued my interest. How do you write a poem in 140 characters? Do you include hashtags? Do you dare truncate, or (gasp!) use numbers or single characters instead of whole words? And does the nature of the Twitter feed really get your work out there, or is it just buried in everyone’s timeline? I was eager to find out.

As I read, I found that the short poems were far easier for my skeptical mind to digest: instead of a long passage of (seemingly) disconnected phrases that my mind struggles to stitch together and assign meaning to, you get concise little gems such as this, which can be taken on their own, or in conjunction with other 140 character snippets:

Oh! Such disappointment! The chess pieces thought they were human.

or

White lies, Black truths, Life is grey; We embolden it with color.

or, my personal favorite:

Earth is just a blueberry on a universe pancake. We just don’t know there’s another pancake underneath & dark energy is the syrup.

Neil DeGrasse Tyson couldn’t have said it better!

Quite evident as I read was Rose’s sense of humor. It actually reminds me a lot of my own–quite dry and generously laced with gleeful sarcasm. I had quite a few laughs as she interjected her own thoughts with her poetry, which made the reading experience that much more enjoyable. She is unquestionably intelligent, witty and intensely relatable. I had a great time with this one…heck, I might even like poetry now. Or at the very least, I’m a little more okay with it.

By Elf2060 on July 28, 2015

“The Brevity of Twit: Poetry and More in 140 Characters” by K.D. Rose is an intriguing collection of observations and poems using the framework of Twitter specifications. This is not a medium that I am very familiar with but I was fascinated by both the pithy observations that can be presented concisely and the methods of bypassing the limitations of only 140 characters using a technique called ‘Tweet series’.

I have found a few new favorite aphorisms, such as “At the table of intellect, some are missing a few portions…” or “The best books change every time you read them.” and, especially, “Charisma is usually mistaken for enlightenment, intelligence and expertise. Hence, the state of the world.” and I was entertained by the hashtags for certain ‘Trends’. This is a fun, quick read that will appeal to those who enjoy witty collections, whether one is familiar with this form of social media or not.

A copy of this title was provided to me for review.

I had a lot of fun reading this little book! K.D. Rose has mastered the art of satire and funneled it into 140 character punches. The Brevity of Twit is packed with a compilation of her Twitter gems, interspersed with funny stories about trending topics and Twitter etiquette. While those are the clips that kept me laughing, her 140 character poetry is actually amazing. It’s clear that Rose has a great deal more to offer than fantastically clever sarcasm and witty puns—she is also a profoundly talented poet. She has mastered the art of Haiku, formulating poetry that fits perfectly within the confines of the Twitter soap box. That feat aside, the poetry is really good—and I look forward to reading more of it (and think you should too). And so, off to follow K.D. Rose I go…

I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion, which this is.

easy, enjoyable and an informative read

By sarah hardy on August 4, 2015

To be honest I really had no idea what to expect from this book, the blurb seems to describe it as quite a mixture of things.

I actually found The Brevity of Twit to be a quick, easy, enjoyable and an informative read.

To me the book actually felt a little bit like a handbook to understanding Twitter. The author has written some wonderful poetry and also included some tweets that she has tweeted herself as well as some do’s and don’ts and being quite new to Twitter, I have actually come away from this book knowing and understanding a lot more about Twitter than I did before hand.

It is actually quite a quaint and quirky book which is a very quick read. I think any Twitter fanatics will certainly find this a humorous read and will love it.

Many thanks to the author for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

By Sheri L. Velarde on May 23, 2015

“Brevity of Twit is a fantastic fast and fun read. You will never look at Twitter quite the same again. KD Rose not only uses humor in her approach to this social media, but she also shows great talent and creativity with the poetry she manages to compose in 140 characters. There is some moving poetry in here, lots of laughs, and some useful advice if you want to tweet yourself. Very entertaining read that I finished in one sitting. It left a smile on my face and inspired me to up my Twitter game. 5/5 stars just for pure fun and inspiration!”

Jun 08, 2015 Libby Broadbent rated it 4 of 5 stars

“What a great little book of ideas and poetry and witty moments! KD Rose uses twitter to extend and challenge the writing of poetry (and philosophy!). As a teacher, I’m going to offer this exercise to my students… write poetry in 140 characters. It works, and it both confronts and embraces our addiction to social media. My favorites were things like: “On the inside of us, that’s where I found the special sauce.” and especially the #writerhell pieces. (“In #writerhell, Syntax is something we grape refrigerator” Hahahaha!) A great read, big thoughts in little pieces.”

Aug 11, 2015 Julia Damatto rated it 5 of 5 stars

Welcome to the 21st century!!!
The Brevity Of Twit it’s a little gem, full of wits, humor and poetry. The author really have an eclectic writing, how can you write poetry in 140 characters??
Like this:
. I was much more interesting when I was ignorant
. Only bad actors should stay dead
. Wow. I can’t spell irrelevant. I claim typo. Yeah, that’s it.
. On the other side of love I looked for you in everyone On the other side of truth I found everyone in you.
I absolutely love this book, it’s adorable, cut
Welcome to the 21st century!!!
The Brevity Of Twit it’s a little gem, full of wits, humor and poetry. The author really have an eclectic writing, how can you write poetry in 140 characters??
Like this:
. I was much more interesting when I was ignorant
. Only bad actors should stay dead
. Wow. I can’t spell irrelevant. I claim typo. Yeah, that’s it.
. On the other side of love I looked for you in everyone On the other side of truth I found everyone in you.
I absolutely love this book, it’s adorable, cute, funny, smart, nerdy. I wish that my tweets were like this, but I’m not that smart.
Highly recommended!!

*I received a Free copy in exchange for an Honest Review*

Jul 29, 2015 Andra rated it 4 of 5 stars

With regards to literature, prose has always been more of my forte rather than poetry. However, how can I deny the fun, the spirit, the modernity of tweeting your poems in 140 characters or less? That’s what K.D. Rose does in her new short book, The Brevity of Twit, and IMO it’s quite genius!

KD Rose has a quirky sense of humor, which is made apparent by the dry sarcasm she employs and the witty quips she makes as writing her poetic tweets. It might have been challenging to get your ideas across With regards to literature, prose has always been more of my forte rather than poetry. However, how can I deny the fun, the spirit, the modernity of tweeting your poems in 140 characters or less? That’s what K.D. Rose does in her new short book, The Brevity of Twit, and IMO it’s quite genius!

KD Rose has a quirky sense of humor, which is made apparent by the dry sarcasm she employs and the witty quips she makes as writing her poetic tweets. It might have been challenging to get your ideas across in 140 characters or less, but Rose seems to have tackled her assignment much as a geeky 10th grader in English class would attack an assignment-enthusiastically and wholeheartedly. I found many of the comparisons to be laugh-out-loud funny (or at least snort-into-my-coffee funny) and enjoyed chortling my way through 3 metro rides worth of hilarity. For those of you not in the DC area, my metro rides are about 15-20 minutes in length so it took me roughly 45 minutes to an hour to get through this delightful short.

I enjoyed how some tweets could be read together to form a sort of theme to the poetry (or perhaps in a different medium would be an entire poem). This gave a better insight to the ideas that were being presented, all while dosing us in short little tidbits that were easier to digest and process than trying to read everything all at once. Definitely give Rose a shot even if poetry isn’t your specialty. The Brevity of Twit is definitely brief and might give you a good laugh or two while silently examining the universe. 🙂

“The Brevity of Twit: Poetry and More in 140 Characters” by K.D. Rose is an intriguing collection of observations and poems using the framework of Twitter specifications. This is not a medium that I am very familiar with but I was fascinated by both the pithy observations that can be presented concisely and the methods of bypassing the limitations of only 140 characters using a technique called ‘Tweet series’.

I have found a few new favorite aphorisms, such as “At the table of intellect, some are missing a few portions…” or “The best books change every time you read them.” and, especially, “Charisma is usually mistaken for enlightenment, intelligence and expertise. Hence, the state of the world.” and I was entertained by the hashtags for certain ‘Trends’. This is a fun, quick read that will appeal to those who enjoy witty collections, whether one is familiar with this form of social media or not.

I had a lot of fun reading this little book! K.D. Rose has mastered the art of satire and funneled it into 140 character punches. The Brevity of Twit is packed with a compilation of her Twitter gems, interspersed with funny stories about trending topics and Twitter etiquette. While those are the clips that kept me laughing, her 140 character poetry is actually amazing. It’s clear that Rose has a great deal more to offer than fantastically clever sarcasm and witty puns—she is also a profoundly t I had a lot of fun reading this little book! K.D. Rose has mastered the art of satire and funneled it into 140 character punches. The Brevity of Twit is packed with a compilation of her Twitter gems, interspersed with funny stories about trending topics and Twitter etiquette. While those are the clips that kept me laughing, her 140 character poetry is actually amazing. It’s clear that Rose has a great deal more to offer than fantastically clever sarcasm and witty puns—she is also a profoundly talented poet. She has mastered the art of Haiku, formulating poetry that fits perfectly within the confines of the Twitter soap box. That feat aside, the poetry is really good—and I look forward to reading more of it (and think you should too). And so, off to follow K.D. Rose I go…

I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion, which this is.

Anger’s Children

Nancy (The Avid Reader) rated it 4 of 5 stars   

I received a free copy of the book from the author for my honest opinion.

Anger’s Children has three short stories each with their own separate characters that each have their own roads to travel and with their own little twist that kept me flipping the pages on my Kindle so fast that I thought it was going to blow up. Each of the three stories in Anger’s Children did exactly like the cover said they would; all three will blow your mind. But in a good way mind you.

In the first story “Under the Shadow of Wings” Kat hears her dead relatives talking to her. When she meets a nice young man in an airport her dead relatives ask her if he is the one. They ask her that over and over. Kat is not sure but one thing is for sure she knows that she is attracted to him and wants him very badly.

In the second story “Eyes Only” this newspaper guy met with his contact who gave him a document with a lot of real secret stuff in it. After receiving it his life started changing like with people watching and following him. So he decides to take the paper to another guy who is in the news business. He wanted to get rid of the info real quick like and he really didn’t care how as long as he got rid of it and he never wanted to see or hear about it ever again.

The last story “The Dark Man” Stryder loved to play games but Cassandra hated playing games but she would play them sometimes when she wanted too. Stryder was Cassandra’s love, lust and loss. Cassandra and Stryder were soulmates through different times except when they became one.

As I said at the start Anger’s Children will blow your mind. It will grab a hold of you right from the very beginning and won’t let go until you have turned that last page. You won’t be able to turn the pages fast enough. If you want a little quickie, something that will blow your mind then Anger’s Children is the book for you. So go grab your copy today.

Readers Favorite Review

Anger’s Children: Three Shorts to Blow Your Mind by K.D. Rose is an interesting compilation of three unrelated short stories: Under the Shadow of Wings, Eyes Only, and The Dark Man. Each story is unique and could actually fit into different genres of literature, from fantasy to modern-day military intrigue. This book will appeal to a variety of readers, but especially those who love a quick read and are intrigued by a drastic switch in style and pace between stories. Those who love a titillating sex scene will also enjoy this book, as that element is found in each of the three stories and really keeps the pace of the short stories exciting. Under the Shadow of Wings, by far the most fantasy-based of the shorts, is a cerebral read that takes some thinking and focus, but is well worth the effort. Eyes Only, the story of a young military man’s escapades with a Russian spy is a fun romp. And The Dark Man, a fantastical thriller, will keep your heart rate rising.

This unique collection of shorts is a great quick read, but not for the faint of heart. These are not feel-good, beach-read type stories, but instead are thought-provoking, dark, and will stay with you long after you’ve finished reading. If you’re ready for a book that makes you shiver with both fear and delight at the same time, then give Anger’s Children: Three Shorts to Blow Your Mind by K.D. Rose a shot!

These are three short stories but intense, very different from each other but exciting, I was completely glued to the pages, once I started reading it, I could not put it down.

The three stories are “Under the Shadow of Wings”, “Eyes Only”, and “The Dark Man”.
The pace is really fast thanks to very short sentences, the characters are original and complex, the three plots are well built and compelling.
If you want to read a book different than usual this is the right choice.

 

A Taste For Mystery

Peggy Salkill 5 of 5 stars

Two stories in one…. and neither one will leave you disappointed. And both will have you asking yourself just what the heck is about to happen! Plenty of sleepless hours just to get to the next page in this book! But don’t take my word for… You should really read for yourself!

Janelle Fila 4 out of 5 Stars

From the very beginning, you know that A Taste For Mystery: Two Novellas by KD Rose is more than just a straight up mystery. These novellas have incredible relationships, characters, and a romance to keep you up at night, turning pages so fast to get to the end of the story.

I loved how the two novellas collided. Reading two novellas is always a nice surprise, especially when they play off one another and twist into each other. It was interesting enough to read two separate stories, but to have characters shift and return in different roles was a nice surprise. It is always nice when you read a story and discover that you already know one of the characters. It feels like you’ve reconnected with an old friend. There are things that you already know about this character, you feel a bond with him or are rooting for her all of the way. But I also liked how the stories were separate. While there was some crossover, the stories could stand on their own, which was refreshing as well.

Inside Sorrow

From Kirkus Reviews

“In 11 bare-bones, free verse poems, Rose (Heavy Bags of Soul, 2012) refines a yearslong grieving process into a heartbreakingly potent distillate of sorrow. “I am at a loss,” declares Rose’s bereft narrator after her husband’s death. Ostensibly referring to her uncertainty about what to do with his belongings, the narrator is also confronting an existential fact; she has arrived at loss and seemingly has nowhere else to go. This technique—the evocation of loss on one level to imply an unspeakably more profound loss beneath—is one Rose frequently employs….The sparseness of her verse—often a single beat or two per line—borders on gaunt and serves to codify the body’s and psyche’s inward collapses under the weight of grief, the instinctively protective drawing inward until “we are balled up in the fetal position.” She also structurally simulates the simultaneous, and paradoxical, scattering of self that accompanies a loss of this magnitude. Upon her husband’s death, she is at once “a wall” with “no door,” “the I’s that must witness” and the peripatetic who has “been bleeding out /all over the house./I can walk / up and down the stairs/tens of times.” The difficulty of relationships—“So much compromise/when it comes to another”—urges her to acknowledge that “some part should feel like freedom/it should feel like freedom/it should,” yet what she finds is that his absence has become a violation of self: “Sorrow has left me naked/ in a way I couldn’t have imagined,/leaving my life open to all./Every nook and cranny.” The recovery of self, the poems reveal, is a long and always incomplete process. Though slightly marred by a handful of prosaic moments, the overall force of these poems is such that lines as simple as “I see a blue sky today./It seems like a triumph” will, in context, shock readers with their cathartic power. Startlingly touching poetry; be prepared to step inside the sorrow.”

Heavy Bags of Soul

Book Review 4 Stars; Reviewed by Johnny Masiulewicz for Readers’ Favorite

“Heavy Bags of Soul” paints a rather dour picture of the modern world. In this engaging collection of poems and prosody is chronicled the trials and pitfalls of an oppressive world that is as absurd as it is tiring. Yet despite this dim outlook on life the book does offer a sense of hope and unity that serves to offset the nihilism of the main theme. Woven throughout the collection – most notable in the author’s modernizations of the classic Socratic dialogue – this theme of unity maintains that although the road of life is an exhaustive one and that all on that road are laden with their own heavy bags, everyone is in this together and only through tackling the challenges of this world together, only through tapping the resources of the equally heavy bags of soul, will everyone can make it through.

Structurally, the aforementioned Socratic dialogues are just one of a variety of literary forms through which the collection’s themes are conveyed. The genre utilized here include both metered and free verse, terse maxims, essays on pop philosophy and cultural movement, and even the occasional bon mot as a punctuation point. This mix of literary formats not only manages to show each and every topical point in a number of different lights, but also challenges the readers who must themselves view each literary format in its own light. Also challenging is the author’s trust in her readers’ intelligence. Though not outwardly acknowledged, that trust is implicit in the author’s habit of using the most diverse and arcane cultural references possible. Citing sources that extend in relevance from Greek taxonomy through quantum physics and on to Top 40 Radio, the topical references may at times have readers wishing they had Wikipedia on speed dial, but do provide for an entertaining, esoteric and intellectually stimulating read.”


Erasing: Shadows

Chris Fischer for Readers’ Favorite

In a great start to a promising new series, author K.D. Rose introduces us to a new reality, one in which toddlers can disappear right in front of their mother’s eyes. That’s exactly what happened to three-year-old Brandon Ross. One moment he was watching his mother, Mira, clean up in the family’s kitchen, and the next, he was disappearing in front of her eyes, part by part. As Book One of the Erasing series, Shadows, progresses, we find out that Mira herself and Brandon’s father, Michael, suspect where Brandon has gone. They have traveled on the astral plane before and are convinced that they can return there to rescue their son. Mira’s incredible emotional distress at the loss of their son causes an unexpected ripple in the plan. When she somehow revert to herself at nine years old, and loses the ability to travel the astral plane, Michael needs to get some old friends together to help rescue both his wife and his son.

I very much enjoyed this first book in the Erasing series. The premise is fresh, the characters are vividly drawn, and the world creating in the astral plane is great. Author K.D. Rose shows great promise in the fantasy/reality genre, and I certainly hope she is continuing in this vein of writing. Shadows would appeal to any reader who enjoys great sci-fi/fantasy reads that are primarily reality based. K.D. Rose, I look forward to reading more from you in the future!

Review By Mollydee   5 of 5 stars

“This was a really good book. It is about a married couple, Michael and Mira, who do some interesting things. Like traveling to another plane of existence. They have been doing it since they were young and they even have a bunch of friends they do it with. But now that they are older and married and have children, they do not visit the place they set up in the astral as much as they used to. And when someone goes, it is mostly Mira now that goes.

But what happens one day when Mira’s son’s whole body just disappears? Where did he go? He does come back but the a few days later his leg disappears. Again, what is going on?

Mira travels into the astral to get answers. But something happens there. Plus she went with her whole and physical body, which is very dangerous to do in the astral. You can bring your consciousness to another plane of existence but your whole body is a different matter completely.

As Mira has an incident that causes her to regress in the astral, which means danger for her, it is now up to Michael and the rest of the gang to go there and get Mira out before seven days is up. Seven days is the longest known time anyone has ever been known to keep their whole body in the astral without dying.

Along the way we find out very interesting things about some members of the gang. Stu for one. And definitely somebody with a lot of skeletons in her closet is Mrs. Ross, Michael’s mother with whom Mira never got along with but now may have to trust her with her life.

This book was full of imagination and adventure from beginning to end. When the kindle told me I was 97% done, I fell back into that lull that you do when you are almost done with a book. But then the author threw out a twist that was completely unexpected.

I recommend this to anyone that likes adventure, some mystery, I guess you can call it a bit of paranormal also, and a really good story. A little romance too for flavor.

I was thrilled at the end to read there was going to be a sequel because the way the book ended, there is enough material for a sequel for sure!”

Jan 08, 2014 Shayna Varadeaux rated it 4 of 5 stars

Right off the bat I am taken in and intrigued and I get a narrative feeling with it. The plot isn’t lacking it just takes a bit to get going. It really felt very suspenseful the whole way through.

Myra’s toddler disappears right before her very eyes and she breaks but she is determined to get her son back. She travels with her husband to the astral plain and doesn’t make it back in her broken mess. Her husband Michael doesn’t know what to do besides turn to their old group of friends, The High Fi Right off the bat I am taken in and intrigued and I get a narrative feeling with it. The plot isn’t lacking it just takes a bit to get going. It really felt very suspenseful the whole way through.

Myra’s toddler disappears right before her very eyes and she breaks but she is determined to get her son back. She travels with her husband to the astral plain and doesn’t make it back in her broken mess. Her husband Michael doesn’t know what to do besides turn to their old group of friends, The High Five Gang, from when they were careless teenagers travelling the astral plain for kicks.

They all agree to help and they work together until they hit a snag by way of a death in the group.

The story really ends up bringing side character Stu into the forefront with his special abilities. Throw in a know too much mother of Michael’s and you have a great paranormal mystery to keep you glued to the pages.

There’s a great cast of characters and a great story to be told.

Just when you think you may have it figured out you find yourself wrong. It’s a great book to get lost in and dramatically beautiful as well.

I recommend Erasing Shadows as a good YA read.


I AM (Poetry in Motion)
From Kirkus Reviews

Rose’s forceful tone contains a sassy edge that will be refreshing to female readers tired of hearing the same old encouragements sweetly whispered to them.”

Rating: 5.0 stars; Reviewed by Bil Howard for Readers’ Favorite
“Our chance doesn’t end until we are dead,” writes K.D. Rose in her book of poetry, I Am (Poetry in Motion). This is a collection of poems that challenges the thought processes and feelings of women and urges them to rise up and be who they are. It inspires women to go against the grain, if the grain isn’t what makes them happy. Women are encouraged to look at their inner beauty and strive to be stronger at presenting that inner strength. This book is a calling to not only find power together with other women, but to find individual strength as well and hold fast to it. Included with short, but profound lines of poetry are graphic images that depict the stronger side and the more beautiful side of women. “It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not.” Profound advice and encouragement like this is found throughout I Am (Poetry in Motion).Though I’m a man and the book was written for women, I still found the clean, honest advice to be strong and stand firm in my individuality both encouraging and inspiring. Within the lines of verse, there is sound advice for women at any stage in life to not knuckle under to the pressures of the world. K.D. Rose would advise her sisters to not conform in order to be comfortable, but to become what they are meant to become. Strong women who have stood up and done what needed doing have been the true blessing of history. It is their spirit of stepping forward and using their strengths and special talents that is celebrated and furthermore encouraged. Fresh, creative, profound and inspiring; I Am (Poetry in Motion) is a clear voice calling women to be what they are and not what others want them to be.”
 on November 12, 2013
“This book is such a great tool for empowering women of all ages. As the book says, “It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not.” As you turn each page, you can’t help but go back and reread the one before, because each section builds upon itself to deliver messages of hope and clarity. The photos and illustrations are wonderful and unexpected. I found myself examining my own life as I read through each poem, trying to determine if I am living up to my own potential. This book makes you think about yourself in ways you probably knew that you should but were too afraid to actually do. Kudos to the author!”
 on November 10, 2013
“KD Rose has a lovely way of pulling a reader in with her thought provoking poems and the pictures that accompany them. It’s real life at its rawest and yet most powerful. My favorite was Regeneration. I can’t get that powerful image of that woman’s beautiful face out of my mind! A treasure to read.”
 on November 8, 2013
“The author wrote this book to help girls and women to realize their own value and empower themselves in today’s society, but I think there is too much power in these words to not share them with everyone. I’d recommend this book to any lover of the well-written word and to any girl or woman!”

 

 
 
 
 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s