The Reader's Room


A Brief History of Seven Killings  was announced to be the winner of this year’s Man Booker Prize. Marlon James gets to take home £50,000 in addition to the prestige of winning the award.
This year’s judges (Michael Wood (chair), Ellah Wakatama Allfrey, John Burnside, Sam Leith and Frances Osborne) reviewed 156 books under consideration.

The Shortlist was made up of the following books:

  • Marlon James (Jamaica), A Brief History of Seven Killings
  • Tom McCarthy (UK), Satin Island
  • Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria), The Fishermen
  • Sunjeev Sahota (UK), The Year of the Runaways
  • Anne Tyler (US), A Spool of Blue Thread
  • Hanya Yanagihara (US), A Little Life

Marlon James is the first Jamaican-born author to be shortlisted for the prize, let alone to win the prize. A Brief History of Seven Killings explores the attempted assassination of Bob Marley in the late 1970s. It is an examination of Jamaica’s troubled and violent history that spans…

View original post 122 more words